LA Love

Screen Shot 2016-02-15 at 12.06.24

Last week in Los Angeles, Hedi Slimane presented his latest menswear collection for Saint Laurent.  The Palladium concert hall on Sunset Boulevard played host to the designer’s autumn/winter 2016/17 show, which also featured a selection of new season looks from his women’s ready to wear line, to be unveiled in full in Paris next month.

It’s no secret that I’m a Saint Laurent fan, although I do always caveat any confession of love for a designer’s aesthetic with a need for their clothes to fit with my own. And while I still succumb to Hedi’s rock ‘n’ roll style, his latest homage to the 1970’s – think midi skirts and wide-legged culottes – is not for me…

However, what I did love about the City of Angels’ show was the designer’s menswear.  Hedi remained faithful to his signature skinny silhouette, which I’m always drawn to, but it was the jackets, and more particularly the detailing on the male models’ outerwear, that captured my attention.  Here a few of my favourites, on the catwalk and up close…

Screen Shot 2016-02-15 at 11.45.08

Military Jacket

Screen Shot 2016-02-15 at 11.51.15

Maquis De Sade Couture Jacket

Screen Shot 2016-02-15 at 11.48.26

Imperial Couture Embroidered Coat

See all the looks from the Saint Laurent Los Angeles show here

Image Credits: gq.comvogue.com / @YSL

Comment

